2011 Cinemalaya Film Festival Winners

Last July July 15- July 24, the 2011 7th Cinemalaya Film Festival was officially opened its door to the public at Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) and Greenbelt 3 Cinemas in Makati. Cinemalaya is a project of the Cinemalaya Foundation, Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), Film Development Council of the Philippines and Econolink Investments, Inc. It is an all-digital film festival that aims to discover, encourage and honor cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity.

Nine films competed in the New Breed full length feature category; ten in the Short feature category and four in the Directors Showcase. Competing in the New Breed category are: Amok (Amok) by Lawrence Fajardo; Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank) by Chris Martinez; Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa (The Dance of Two Left Feet) by Alemberg Ang and Alvin Yapan; Baby Factory by Eduardo W. Roy, Jr. and Jerome Zamora; Cuchera by Joseph Israel M. Laban and Janice O’Hara; I-libings: Your Loss, Our Luck (E-funerals) by Rommel Andreo Sales; Ligo na U, Lapit Na Me by Noel Ferrer, Jerry Gracio and Erick Salud; Niño by Loy Arcenas; and Teoriya (Father’s Way) by Alistaire Christian E. Chan. The nine finalists of the New Breed Full Length Feature category each received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation as investment for the production. The Best Full Length Feature Film will receive a prize of P200,000 and the Balanghai Trophy. The New Breed Full Length feature category is open to Filipino filmmakers who have not yet directed more than three full feature films. The ten finalists in the Short Feature category are: Oliver’s Apartment by Misha Balangue, Hanapbuhay (Source of Living) by Henry Frejas, Un Diutay Mundo(one Small World) by Ana Carlyn V. Lim, Immanuel by Gabriel “Gio” Puyat, Hazardby Mikhail Red, Walang Katapusang Kwarto (An Endless Room) by Emerson Reyes, Debut by Pamela Llanes Reyes, Samarito (Smaritan) by Rafael L. Santos,Every Other Time by Gino M. Santos, and Nino Bonito by Rommel “Milo” Tolentino. The winner of the Short Feature Category will receive a prize of P100,000.00 and the Balanghai trophy. The four finalists in the Directors Showcase are: Bisperas (Eve) by Jeffrey Jeturian; Busong (Palawan Fate) by Auraeus Solito; Isda (Fable of the Fish) by Adolfo Alix Jr. and Patikul by Joel C. Lamangan. The finalists of the Directors showcase each received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation. The Best Film in the Directors Showcase will receive a prize of P300,000 and the Balanghai Trophy. The Directors Showcase is open to full length feature works by Filipino directors who have directed at least three full-length commercial feature films.

The 2011 Cinemalaya Film Festival Awards Night was successfully held last July 24, 2011, 7:00 pm. The event was held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines and was hosted by Paolo Bediones and Angel Aquino. Among the presenters were Gretchen Barretto, Alessandra de Rossi, Kean Cipriano, Cai Cortez, Jennifer Sevilla, Sue Prado, and Maria Isabel Lopez.

Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank, which pokes fun at indie filmmaking, was the night’s biggest winner; picking up five Balanghay trophies, Best Film, Best Director (Marlon Rivera), Best Screenplay (Chris Martinez), Audience Choice Award, and Best Actress (Eugene Domingo). Eugene is a favorite to win the Best Actress trophy. “Kung hindi pa ako nakakain ng tae, hindi pa ako mananalo!” exclaimed the comedienne at the beginning of her acceptance speech, which she also delivered in English for international guests. In the film, Eugene was literally submerged into a septic tank. Aside from thanking her co-stars in the movie, Eugene also acknowledged the members of Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA) who were also part of the cast.

Young actor Edgar Allan Guzman, on the other hand, was named Best Actor for his role in the sex-comedy Ligo Na U, Lapit Na Me. Edgar Allan, who was under the weather, thanked his “love team” in the film, Mercedes Cabral, his mother, and his manager Noel Ferrer.

Meanwhile, Niño, directed by Loy Arcenas, picked up four trophies in the New Breed category, including Special Jury Prize, Best Supporting Actress (Shamaine Buencamino), Best Supporting Actor (Art Acuna), and Best Production Design.

Here’s the complete list of winners of the Cinemalaya 2011:


Best Film
: “Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank”
Special Jury Prize: “Nino”
Audience Choice: “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank”
Best Director: Marlon Rivera (“Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank”)
Best Actress: Eugene Domingo (“Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank”)
Best Actor: Edgar Allan Guzman (“Ligo Na U, Lapit Na Me”)
Best Supporting Actress: Shamaine Buencamino (“Nino”)
Best Supporting Actor: Art Acuna (“Nino”)
Best Screenplay: Chris Martinez (“Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank”)
Best Cinematography: “Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”
Best Production Design: Laida Lim (“Nino”)
Best Editing: Lawrence Fajardo (“Amok”)
Best Original Music Score: Christine Muyco and Jema Pamintuan (“Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”)
Best Sound Recording: Mike Idioma (“Amok”)
Cinemalaya 2011 Winners List compiled by Noypistuff


Best Film – “Bisperas”
Audience Choice: “Patikul”
Best Director: Aureaus Solito (“Busong”)
Best Actress: Raquel Villavicencio (“Bisperas”)
Best Actor : Bembol Roco (“Isda”)
Best Supporting Actress: Julia Clarete (“Bisperas”)
Best Supporting Actor: Jaime Pebangco (“Patikul”)
Best Screenplay: No winner
Best Cinematography: Roberto Yniguez (“Bisperas”)
Best Production Design: Rodrigo Riccio (“Bisperas”)
Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino (“Isda”)
Best Original Musical Score: Diwa de Leon (“Busong”)
Best Sound: Diwa de Leon (“Busong”)
Kids Treat Best Film for Children: “Patikul”


Best Film: “Walang Katapusang Kuwarto”
Special Jury Prize: “Hanap Buhay”
Audience Choice: “Walang Katapusang Kwarto”
Best Director: Rommel Tolentino (“Nino Bonito”)

Source: PEP.com, Manila Bulletin, noypistuff.blogspot.com,

Comments are closed.